Home

 Reinvention

In our newest project we had to produce either a handmade book or a still frame video which linked with the theme of Reinvention. In our introduction we look a number of different artists that had reinvented a piece of art work. One of the examples we looked at was Richard Prince. His work showed removed text from his advert. By doing this; Prince has reinvented his work. That is how Reinvention works, by taking a piece of work and adding or removing an item in Prince’s case this creates a reinvention. Down below I have examples of Prince’s work to show people on how he created reinvention into his work.

DSC_3661647A0A0C7

Links

Original Image

http://www.taringa.net/posts/imagenes/16582552/Las-10-fotos-mas-caras-de-la-historia.html

Reinvented Image

http://yawncreative.blogspot.co.uk/2010/12/marlboro-country.html

Artist Research

During our introduction for Reinvention unit, we looked a number of different artists that use Montage in their work. I have chosen three which used montage the best. I will talk about how they use montage and why they included in their work.

Richard Prince

The Artist Richard Prince re-photograph a cowboy advertisement and removed the text in his Untitled Cowboy image. His ran into some copyright laws from Marlboro as he removed the text from the original image. Prince used montage well as he reinvented the Cowboy image. I like how Prince makes the Cowboy a stand along powerful looking character, this was a good technique used in my opinion.

tumblr_mmgdrgkxtn1qghk7bo1_1280

Nicolas Lampert

Nicolas Lampert’s work was unexpected but it was different to look at visual standpoint. The work we looked at contained different meats placed in the photos acting for example; as a hillside. This created good montage work is my view as Lampert created something that up until that point I hadn’t seen before. Another strong point about the images is the editing. All of images I saw were edited to a strong professional point where I couldn’t see any issues with any of the photographers. If I was going to base my idea I would use this as a good example as it makes you look unique.

LAMPERT_Where my chickens 1.jpg itok=jfWTQUcm

John Stezaker

Artist John Stezaker also has unique montage work. The images I looked at in the intro were different to any previous photography work I had seen. His work was interesting to look at as Stezaker placed a postcard across the main image’s face. This is another good example of montage as it shows you a different insight to the endless possibilities you can explore with montage making. The technique used by Stezaker in my view is basic as he only placed a one image above another but that is still an effective technique. This artist work helped me with my second area Where’s Wally?, as I will testing out laying images onto another image.

mask-xxxv-by-john-stezaker

Cowboy image

http://www.cavetocanvas.com/post/49941021719/richard-prince-untitled-cowboy-1989-from-the

Meat image

http://www.wardhenline.com/uncooped/pop_culture

Landscape image

http://embracingourfailures.wordpress.com/author/laurenmiller4/page/2/

Leave a comment